Is there such a thing as a clear mind?

There are some decisions in life that we make that are so private we are even afraid to admit them to ourselves. I’m sitting here with a cup of strong coffee, Neil Young’s “Heart of Gold” playing, chatting with a friend on Facebook and trying to find the words. I have never regretted any decisions I’ve made in my life because they truly have led me to become the person I am now, so cliche, I know. I even hate typing it. Sometimes I am 100% ok with being me and other days, like today, I am not so sure. I know there is no malice in my heart. I think I am a good person. I have good intentions. But I am human. There are moments where briefly, when I see karma in effect, I am grateful that it exists and in that same instant, I think “shit, the fact that I had a moment of gratitude for seeing what I perceive as a karmic act  means that I am putting negative out there in the universe and maybe that is what is happening to me”  Do we ever really break the cycle? Is there a way to let it ALL go, devoid of the emotions associated with the memories? Am I wrong when I am momentarily happy to see a person who has wronged me in so many ways, betrayed me, lied to me, stole from me get what they deserve? Does that make me just as bad as they are? These are the days I wonder how Mother Teresa did it. Did she have these thoughts? Did she just ask for forgiveness from God and allow him to wipe the slate clean? Maybe that is why people NEED religion so much. Maybe I’m simply trying to wipe the slate clean within myself, fighting human nature and the basics of psychology. It’s days like today, that I want to believe in something that will wipe MY slate clean. I just can’t. I’ve tried. I hold myself accountable to ME and I am my own worst critic. I have a feeling I will be battling my demons for a lifetime.

Image

2 thoughts on “Is there such a thing as a clear mind?

  1. I was thinking along the same lines just an hour ago, only about the Westboro Church reports that they will picket the funerals of the Boston marathon victims. I wondered what peoples reactions would be if their church was bombed, all of those horrible people killed. It would be murder, yes. At what point does karma make it acceptable loss?

Leave a Reply

