jumping ahead….plastic surgery

For a moment, I am going to jump ahead slightly and only because I was reminded of this event in my life recently. I went to work at this lovely plastic surgery practice. It was unlike any place I had ever worked before or since. It was one of those moments in time, so special that you can never get back and you can never duplicate. I had made two of the closest friends I have ever had or ever will and still am connected to forever. I received a call in the middle of the night on my cell phone. When I answered I could not for the life of me understand a word that was being said but the voice had the very unsettling tone of grief. It was cries and whimpers and gasps. I knew by the caller ID that it was my best friend Jenny. I had no idea what was going on, I literally could not make out a word. I knew I had to get to her. She lived 20-30 minutes away. It was 2am. I called our mutual best friend Courtney and told her what happened. She immediately said, without an ounce of hesitation, “I am on my way”. She arrived at my house within 10 minutes. We were both shell-shocked, trying to reach our friend via phone to no answer. As we were driving there of course we were speculating on what could be going on, was it her family? her fiance? herself? was she ok? alive? was someone we knew dead?  We drove as fast as we could. We were within minutes of her house when we got a call from a slightly calmer Jenny, she asked if I was coming and if I could stop to get her cigarettes, she needed them, was all out and was losing her shit. I wasn’t about to tell her no. She would explain everything once we got there and then she began sobbing again and hung up, I heard her say “they’re dead”. I knew it was going to be bad. I looked at Courtney and said, she needs cigarettes, in the panic and rush I did not bring my purse and looked down to see I had no bra on, flip flops and torn jeans. Courtney gave me this awful look and said “mamma, I didn’t bring anything, I just got up and came, I’m not even wearing shoes”  We agreed we would NOT go to her house without cigarettes and began to search the car for loose change. We came up with about 89 cents. We first stopped at a gas station that refused to open their doors to us, we banged and yelled and they simply would not come to the door. We then spotted a 24 hour Walgreens and decided that would have to do. Jenny lived in one of the worst neighborhoods in South Florida. This Walgreens was right on the corner and it was 2:30am. When I tell you that Courtney and I had more adrenaline running through our veins than we knew what to do with, I am not exaggerating. I robbed that Walgreens and Courtney was the get away driver. I ran in with the 89 cents, jumped the counter at the front, grabbed two packs of cigarettes, didn’t care what brand, don’t even know to this day what they were, listened to the cashier screaming, slammed the change on the counter and ran out as fast as I could. Courtney was waiting with the SUV running and the door open. I dove in and yelled “GO GO GO” and she peeled away. Thankfully, Jenny lived only a few blocks away and when we got there, we both took a deep breath and calmly walked to the front door like nothing had happened. We made our way through the house onto the back patio where Jenny explained that one of her best friends, who was 7 months pregnant and her husband were killed in a car accident coming back from Disney World. She also had a 2 or 3 year old daughter who survived and Jenny was the God mother. She had received the call right before calling me. We grabbed chairs from the patio to sit next to Jenny and console her, when Courtney went to sit in her chair, it flipped her backwards INTO the swimming pool, it was the funniest thing I have ever seen at the worst possible moment. Jenny and I both stared completely silent as Courtney lifted herself out of the pool. She didn’t miss a beat and acted as though it had never happened. She sat back in the chair and rested her chin on her hand, leaned in and said in her most serious, concerned voice… “I’m so sorry mamma”  We burst out laughing. In that moment, we were bonded for life. We laughed and cried until the sun came up.

We are the friends you can call at 2am who will rob a convenience store for you if we can’t provide it ourselves. And they are the friends I will have for life, my partner’s in crime. My biggest cheerleaders and confidants. My 2am’s, 3am’s and beyond. The original blonde 3. I love them.

Image

3 thoughts on “jumping ahead….plastic surgery

  1. I remember when all that happened. I didn’t know the backstory. That’s great. I can see the whole thing happening.

  2. An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you become expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!

Leave a Reply

