I would offer…

I have never been more convinced or reminded that I belong to no one. I navigate my days and nights like a nomad, traveling between experience and memories. The only constant is the ever present ache of being alone. I fill whatever role is needed of me and gather my heart and move on. I’ve been the quintessential party girl for my “single” friends both male and female when they have needed a wing man. I’ve been the girl that whenever whatever relationship you are currently in has dissolved and you need a shoulder to cry on, a drinking partner or both. I’ve been the “fun-adventurous” friend that you call to take a road trip, or try sky diving, or alligator wrestling. I’ve been next to your side for your milestones, your birthdays, graduations, first attempt at hosting a party, the birth of your child, the loss of your child. I’ve been the 3am phone call and the 3pm phone call. I’ve been the girl helping you pick up the pieces of a broken heart and a broken home. I’ve been your partner in crime. I’ve been the butt of self-deprecating humor all for a good laugh, of course. And I’ve been there still when you go back to your life, to your home, to your family, loved one, friend, lover, husband, wife… waiting for the opportunity to come again when you call. And I go alone. Always alone. I gave myself over to universe long ago, but sometimes….sometimes ….well, you know

when-you-feel-like-youre-fighting-alone-in-life-thats-when-you-should-be-fighting-the-hardest-quote-1

Leave a Reply

