Numb

I didn’t feel the sun on my cheek this morning, only vaguely aware that it was even up.

I couldn’t hear the music that was streaming from my speakers or feel the leather of my steering wheel on my fingertips.

I had no words to say, so none came.

A single name replayed over and over again in my mind, I could see it on paper and then the paper was torn away, crumbled up as another blank page appeared.

The name was written again and torn away a second, third and fourth time over and over until I lost count.

I have no taste for food and the hunger I would normally feel is gone, This feeling I am accustomed to. This is the one familiar  thing I can always expect.

This is the place my pain can take refuge.

I am numb.

Leave a Reply

