unapologetic

I let go with love in my heart and forgiveness in my soul.

I let go because holding on became too much of an act.

I let go because the way I needed to be loved was a direct conflict to his existence.

I let go because I could not will him to see me.

I let go and asked for no response, no closure and no explanation because I did not want to read words or hear thoughts that contradicted his actions.

I let go because I could see myself clawing at the sides of the cliff and no hand outstretched to grasp me.

I let go because all of the things that attracted me were a distant memory and fading like the light from shore viewed on a fragile vessel sent into a raging sea.

I let go because although my heart was freely in it, his heart was caged beneath the man he never seemed to be able to reconcile to be.

I let go because as sure as I was of the life that could be, his excuses were an ever present obstacle, a Goliath mountain with an unobtainable peak.

I let go.

I let go.

I let go.

Finally, unapologetic.

I let go and it didn’t change a thing.

3 thoughts on “unapologetic

  1. I love this! We fight so much to hold onto things that we need to rid ourselves of. And we do this disservice to ourselves in the process. But this line here, blew me away – “I let go and asked for no response, no closure and no explanation because I did not want to read words or hear thoughts that contradicted his actions.” At some point, you GET to this point. I’ve been there and when you’re there…you’re there.

Leave a Reply

