What’s worse? Chose me

I write about my life. I write about my situations, some current, some past. I never really like to clarify the timeline because when it happened isn’t nearly as important as the fact that it did happen.

Something that has given me a lot of pause lately is acceptance. I am so blessed to have people that accept me…for the imperfect creature that I am. Who stand by me stumble after fall and never judge, at least not outwardly and I’m pretty convinced not inwardly either.

And because of this acceptance I feel free to tell my story in a way that flows from me when the mood strikes. I never worry that the people who are currently in my life are going to verbalize their disapproval, give me ultimatums or force me into some unnatural choice based on THEIR opinions.

I am fortunate to have such a diverse group of supporters in family and friends that at any given moment…if I am happy, THEY are happy for me…even if cautiously.

I’ve never had anyone voice criticism for a choice I have made or make me feel as though my choices would somehow lead to restrictions on our relationship.

And because of this over the years I have gained strength in my choices. I gained courage to do what I FELT was the right thing. This has lead me to a very happy place.

Am I happy all the time? No

Do I make mistakes in judgment? Absolutely

But I am free to make those mistakes all on my own and my loving support system is there either way, whether it works out or not.

I can’t imagine how it would feel to be going through the most difficult time in my life, find a slice of happiness and have someone I was close to, that I depended on criticize me or judge me and verbalize that to me regularly. It would be devastating, confusing and disheartening. But I guess not everyone is as fortunate as I am.

Some people have their own motives and are inherently selfish.

I witnessed this first hand recently and it has really struck a nerve.

I am fortunate that the people I surround myself with respect me enough to place confidence in my choices and love me enough to help pick up the pieces if I fail.

So thank you loves in my life, for allowing me to be unapologetically me.

One thought on “What’s worse? Chose me

Leave a Reply

