What if?

It’s time.

What if you found out today that this was the last year of your life?

What would you do to make it count?

What if this is it? What if this is the chance to leave your mark on the world, or better yet, what if it was time to let the world leave it’s mark on you?

I want to walk through a redwood forest and sit among trees older than my soul. I want to see open country, blue skies and even bluer water. I want to go where the air I breathe isn’t laced with toxins. I want to watch the wild mustangs charging through the plains. I want look up at the night sky and see ALL the stars it has to offer. I want to take in all the things that are beautiful and untouched.

It’s time.

I am not going to look back at my life with regret for the things I did not try or the things I did not do. I have to GO.

My whole life has been making practical choices in impractical situations. I have lived in a constant state of paradox; two simultaneous realities battling out the labyrinth that is my mind.

The desire to roam and wander and reconnect with my soul that has not so quietly stolen away from me during my life’s experiences, is ever present.  However, the expectation that I need to be a productive member of society, paying bills and doing logical things always seems to get the last word.

I am giving over to my wanderlust. I want to feed my soul. I want to reconnect with the person I have lost along the way. I want to find her again.

I want this world to leave it’s mark on MY soul. I want to be changed. I want to evolve into a being that doesn’t need high definition television or whatever the latest trends are. I want to take Polaroid pictures and shake them until they develop the moment I’ve captured.

I want to build camp fires and share stories with people my path would otherwise never cross. I want to learn 10 new things a day and teach someone something everyday.

I want to see the world for the first time with untarnished eyes. I want to tune out the politics of life.

I want to live.

I want to be here. now.

It is time.

 

 

 

One thought on “What if?

  1. You better SAY that honey! I love this. Far too often we live in future moments that never happen because (as you said) our whole life has been making practical choices in impractical situations. Mmmm

Leave a Reply

