Dragon Kite

And I laid it all out there

for you to see

And you told me

I was everything

so

fantastically, scarily perfect on so many levels

and that was the nicest compliment

I had ever received

so of course, I ran with those words until they lifted

and soared through my skies like a bright red dragon

sunshine kite

tethered by such fragile string

right at the base of my heart

So even when the storms came

I painted rainbows on my face

outstretched my arms

expecting to be swept up

in your dark embrace

And now it’s all blue skies

cloudless

And that sunshine

dragon kite

has vanished

without

a

trace.

~Christie Page

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

